Your apathy ends here.

It’s been a while since I got up the nerve to document anything, let alone publish it to a discerning audience. After months of lamenting over the free time I had, I decided to effectively put an end to being young, hungry and listless.

The plight of many twenty- and thirty-somethings is how little time we (think we) have to be creative or prepare Real Food, and the excuses that go along with it. We all have instances of coming home after a long day of sitting in front of a computer screen, running around or working labouriously over anything translates to: Don’t even try it, I’m not making a damned thing. This of course leads to standing in front of the refrigerator, staring at condiments and keeping cool, or popping by the corner store or fast food “restaurant” to sustain us because it’s just easier. But when you break it down, it’s neither.

So my goal is simple: I’m going to prove that you don’t need a lot of money (I’m certainly skint) or a lot of time (check!) to make food for yourself on a daily basis. Even if three nights a week is all that’s going to cut it, it’s better than nothing and you can tell your mom that yes, you are eating properly, and yes, you do know how to cook. I’m not proposing anything mental here; I’m just saying it can be done. In the coming weeks I will be posting recipes and photos of the food I have attempted to make, along with adaptations and attributions. Let me know what you think, and if you have any suggestions, that would be amazing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

