Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Lovely little discs of bliss.

Sometimes all you want out of a day is to curl up into a ball, watch some inane television, and eat a plate of warm, chewy chocolate chip cookies.

Since that day has come at least once or twice a month since September, I have had every reason to make variations on The Great Chocolate Chip Cookie. This particular recipe comes from America’s Test Kitchen’s New Best Recipe collection, and I swear on my computer (something I love more than anything) that these cookies will make you a convert from any recipe you may have used before.

I should stress that I am not a cookie person. They just don’t normally do it for me. That is, unless they are simple and chewy. Any crunch factor and I politely decline. Biscotti, brittles, all of those things sort of make me wonder why anyone would work so hard to eat their food. You know, crunching and all that. For me, the best part of eating sweets is the melting quotient: the gentle breaking apart of a soft or chewy foundation with little to no effort, the pieces of delicious surprise by way of chips, fruit, or nuts–it’s those textures that make some desserts so thrilling to eat. Am I wrong? I didn’t think so.

One more thing about this recipe that rocks my world is how well they keep–because I love soft cookies so much, I was delighted to find that when kept in an airtight container, these cookies stay chewy and delightful for up to a week (if they stick around that long).

If these descriptions haven’t enticed you enough, let me say this: of the two occasions in which I have made these, 90% of the people who ate the cookies initially refused to believe that they were homemade. Now I’m passing on the bragging rights by way of another America’s Test Kitchen winner.

Thick & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
From America’s Test Kitchen New Best Recipe

Printer-friendly version

Ingredients

2 c. plus 2 tbsp. all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
12 tbsp. (3/4 c.) unsalted butter, melted and cooled until warm
1 c. packed light or dark brown sugar
1/2 c. granulated sugar
1 egg, plus 1 egg yolk
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1-1 1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips (I used 1/2 c. white chocolate chips)

Directions

  1. Place oven racks to upper- and lower-middle positions, then preheat the oven to 325°F. Spray two large cookie sheets with baking spray or line them with parchment paper. I wouldn’t recommend using parchment if your oven has a tendency to overheat–the cookies will burn before the centres are finished baking.
  2. Whisk the flour, baking soda and salt together, set aside.
  3. Combine butter and sugars until blended. Beat in egg, yolk and vanilla until thoroughly blended. Add the dry ingredients and beat at low speed until the mix comes together. Stir in chocolate chips with a wooden spoon.
  4. Using a 1/4 c. measure, scoop the dough and form into a ball; set 2″ apart on baking sheet. To create a crackly look on top, tear the ball apart and gently squish the two pieces together before placing it on the baking sheet.
  5. Bake until cookies are lightly golden, the edges begin to brown, and the centres will still be visibly soft; about 15 to 18 minutes. Rotate the cookie sheets halfway through baking, this is a really important step to making them bake evenly. I used to say, “Whatever, no thanks,” until I did it one day and it does make a difference.
  6. Cool the cookies on the sheets for about 10-20 minutes before serving.

Perfection.

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Thick and chewy triple-chocolate cookies | Young, Hungry & Listless

Leave a Reply

