Spicy chicken skewers

Pretty amazing, I know.

There is something about the summer that makes people ravenous for barbecue. I don’t know if it’s the warm sunshine or the antsy feeling of being caged in during the winter months, but the idea of grilling anything turns me into the kind of crazy similar to those women who go crazy for sample sale wedding dresses.

So I decided to riff. It was my cousin’s baby shower this past weekend and I could think of only one thing to make: chicken skewers with an Asian/Mediterranean/Mexican twist. I had a foolproof trio of flavours in mind and an itch to get back in the food-making game.

Lime, garlic and chili sauce are all you need to wow a room full of discerning palates. And when I say “discerning” I really mean “the ladies in my family who will undoubtedly judge my culinary prowess in a matter of seconds.”

Let’s just say I passed with flying colours. Sight unseen, the sheer scent of the chicken as it wafted into the room won me points with my mother (my toughest food critic). Crisp citrus with a kick of chili and garlic make this a perfect summer appetizer on its own, with satay dips, or as an accompaniment to a summer salad. Give it a whirl, you’ll thank me later!

Spicy Chicken Skewers
Serves 6–8 (appetizer)

Printer-friendly version

Ingredients
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1″ W x 3″ L pieces
2 limes, juiced
6 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbsp. chili sauce (a.k.a. Sambal Oelek)
2 tbsp. olive oil
1/2 tsp. each salt & pepper

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a glass dish or bowl and marinate overnight. If pressed for time, 2-6 hours will do, but will yield a less powerful flavour.
  2. Soak bamboo skewers for at least 30 minutes before grilling, or use metal if you prefer. Weave chicken onto one end of the skewer.
  3. Heat BBQ or grill pan over medium heat and cook for 3-5 minutes on each side, or until juices run clear. Thinner pieces will cook in less time.
  4. Serve with satay dipping sauces or as-is.
1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Spicy chicken skewers

  1. Sarah

    Yum, making this for dinner tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

